Posted in English

Discussion based on famous quotes. project

I chose the book “The old man and the sea” which is about a fisherman whose name is Santiago. The author is Ernest Hemingway. I have read that book in Armenian and now I decided to read it once again in English. It’s about an old fisherman who has not caught a fish for 84 days. The family of his apprentice, Manolin, has forced the boy to leave the old fisherman, though Manolin continues to support him with food and bait. Santiago is a mentor to the boy, who cherishes the old man and the life lessons he imparts. Convinced that his luck must change, Santiago takes his skiff far out into the deep waters of the Gulf Stream, where he soon catch a giant marlin.

I singled out this quote “It’s silly not to hope. It’s a sin.” I think it’s one of the most important, because really when hope fades, it’s the scariest thing that can happen. Everyone should always have hope because without it it’s difficult to believe, to strive for something, hope always helps a person – to lose hope – it’s really silly or even a sin.

And the second quote is “No one should be alone in their old age…but it is unavoidable.” It’s a very sad situation when someone is alone in his old age because particularly in that time we need attention, we need someone who take care of us, will help us. Loneliness is a very bad thing – it makes a person sad, and in old age, it affects especially badly.

Posted in English, Uncategorized

Assignments for 15.11.2021

Revise and Check NEF Advanced, slide 24 ex-es related to grammar and vocabulary

Grammar

a) 1. We need to have the central heating repaired soon, before it starts getting cold.

2. The Chinese economy is growing and as a result the standard of living is rising.

3. We were very late because of a traffic accident on the motorway.

4. Everybody seemed to enjoy the barbecue even though the weather wasn’t very warm.

5. She wore a loose-fitting dress but people wouldn’t notice that she’d put on weight.

6. Will the person who left their the boarding pass at security please go back and collect it?

7. If we lived close to each other, we’d probably spend more time together.

8. Joe is quite reserved – he never talks about it.

9. When I was young, my family used to spend every summer holiday at the seaside.

10. This street looks different from when I was a child. Didn’t there use to be a sweet shop on the corner?

b) 1. I need have to pay someone to repair my glasses.

2. If we buy a dishwasher, it won’t have to do the washing.

3. I haven’t seen him the last time since 2010.

4. They managed to get here despite the traffic was heavy.

5. The flight was cancelled due the fog.

6. She wore dark glasses so as not be recognized.

7. If one learns a few phrases, the local people really appreciate it.

8. Jane and Martha sees each other once a month.

9. The children wrapped the present by themselves.

10. My aunt would use to bake biscuits for us.

Vocabulary

a) 1. He’s quite an unadventurous person – he doesn’t like taking risks.

2. They suddenly got married on holiday in Las Vegas – they’re very spontaneous.

3. She never asks for anyone’s help. She’s completely self-sufficient.

4. He won’t listen to me, but he might change his mind if you talk to him.

5. My brother wasn’t very sympathetic when I failed my driving test – in fact, he just laughed!

6. He was determined to be a musician eves as a boy.

7. He always finds sulition to problems – he’s very resourceful.

8. He seems though, but deep down he’s quite sensetive.

b) 1. My kids can be a real pain in the neck when we eat out – they’re so fussy!

2. My grandfather’s always had a quick temper. We were quite scared of him when we were young.

3. He can be a bit bad-tempered, bu he’s got a heart of gold.

4. My boss is very down -to-earth; you can talk to him about anything.

5. I’ve read the intructions three times, but I still can’t get my head round.

6. What’s that actor’s name? It’s on the tip of my tongue.

7. She got completely the wrong end of the stick. I was offering her a promotion and she thought she was getting fired!

c) 1. She’s been off work for three days with the flu.

2. I won’t get thst job; I don’t have the qualifications.

3. He resigned before they could sack him.

4. I’m hoping to get promotes to a more senior post.

5. I must have applied for dozens of jobs.

6. Job-haunting can be really demoralizing.

7. Factory work is usually very monotonous.

8. The manager is in charge of 400 workforce.